GRRL009: music accessibility to all ages, queer/trans folks in San Diego and Portland, featuring Emma Grrrl of She/Her/Hers

Aaaaannnnddd I’m back from our holiday hiatus–it was a little longer than I had anticipated, but, you know, LIFE just has to get in the way. But I’m very excited to share with you an interview that had been in the works since July. In fact, I even mentioned Emma in episode #5.

Emma Grrrl is a trans musician who I contacted when she was still living in Portland. To make things more complicated for the interview process, she decided to pack up her car to play shows across the country. Now she’s back in San Diego, ready to settle down… maybe.

In this episode, we talk about her project She/Her/Hers and the importance of making music accessible to all ages (not just the 21+ crowd). Plus you’ll get to hear some great artists from around the country.

Emma encourages folks to friend her on her personal Facebook.

And please, if you liked this episode, rate us on iTunes. And as always, feel free to leave a comment, email me, follow me on Twitter, or like us on Facebook.

Listen Here

Download the episode. [~31 mins, 36MB]

Shownotes

  • [1:30] Writing songs about gender and growing from that
  • [3:00] Pros and cons of touring
  • [5:00] She/Her/Hers – Sweaters in Summer
  • [7:30] Discussion of a Screaming Females interview and creating a community of musicians that help each other
    • Do we have a foundation for this kind of community in San Diego and around the country?
    • Financial concerns
    • From the interview: “But I think an artists and musicians run network would be a powerful thing, where it was more focused on a collaborative industry where you don’t have promoters and booking agents competing against each other, but rather have people who are also musicians running shows, owning clubs, running collective ventures like music stores and record stores.”
  • [12:15] Ludlow – “Nacho Job”
  • [14:30] Why is creating a musical environment for an all ages audience important?
    • Lack of accessibility for minors who want to play music and go on tour
    • “I’m saying a lot of the things that I wish someone had said to me when I was that age.”
  • [18:30] Marissa. – Set in Stone
  • [20:30] Creating a safe space and inclusive scene at the Che Cafe
  • [22:00] Playing an intimate show and creating a conversation with the audience
    • Paying attention and being respectful
  • [23:00] Portland music scene
    • “Portland is really queer.”
    • Can we create a trans and queer space in the San Diego music scene?
  • [25:00] Porchcat – “Bedroom Artist”
    • Writing about “invisible” issues like ableism and mental health
  • [28:30] Add Emma Grrrl on her personal Facebook
  • [30:00] Is your music scene inclusive? How can we, as musicians, create a supportive scene? Shoot me an email or post a comment with your thoughts!

Other Notes & Thanks!

Thank you to all the artists who gave me permission to play their songs and to Emma for taking the time to speak with me in my cramped bedroom “studio.”

Special thanks to: Sullen Ray who graciously allows me to use their song “Get Up Got It” as the Grrl on Grrl podcast intro and outro–listen to and buy their album Blue Minor on Bandcamp and look out for the upcoming new album Outside the Color Wheel; Greg Guiliano for his financial support; and Gary Hankins for making the episode sound good.

And to all my friends who have been so supportive of this project, I love you!

2 thoughts on “GRRL009: music accessibility to all ages, queer/trans folks in San Diego and Portland, featuring Emma Grrrl of She/Her/Hers

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.